Are Drugs Legal in California?
It's illegal to be in possession, manufacture, or sell drugs considered illegal in the state of California. Though state voters have recently allowed for the legal use of marijuana in many cases, drug crime laws are still nuanced and penalties are not cut and dry.
Penalties for Drug Charges
They can vary widely, from community service to years in prison and thousands of dollars in fines. It all depends on the facts of your case.
Have you been charged for an alleged drug crime? Call Gonzales Law Office today at (916) 318-5177 or contact us online to start your defense!
What Are The Penalties For Drug Crimes in California?
If you’ve been arrested for a drug crime, the penalties depend on a number of considerable factors. For example, less serious drug crimes that may be charged as a misdemeanor will obviously not carry the same penalties as drug crimes charged as a felony.
The penalties you can expect to face for a drug charge depend on the following:
- The type of drug: Heroin possession will likely lead to harsher penalties than marijuana possession, for example.
- Amount of drugs you had on you: Large amounts of drugs typically lead to distribution or trafficking charges.
- Prior drug-related criminal history: Judges are likely to be more lenient if this was your first time.
Judges typically have some discretion in cases involving drug crimes and can impose penalties such as community service, drug treatment, fines, probation, and jail or prison sentences. In addition, California has drug courts, where felony drug offenders can go to rehabilitate instead of going to trial. This program lasts over a year and requires frequent drug testing.
What Are The Penalties For Marijuana Possession in California?
- Possession of more than 28.5 grams (other than concentrated cannabis) may result in up to 6 months in jail and/or up to $500 in fines.
- Possession of no more than 28.5 grams is legal those 21 years of age or older but is an infraction for those 18 years of age and under - a mandatory drug education course and community service will be issued.
- Possession of up to 8 grams of concentrated cannabis is legal, whereas possession of more than 8 grams of concentrated cannabis is illegal and may result in up to a year in jail and/or up to $500 in fines.
Why Choose Gonzales Law Office?
- Representation from a former police officer
- A proven track record of success
- Affordable payment plans
- Attentive and personalized client service
Your best defense is to learn your options and protect your rights. Turn to our skilled attorneys for the representation you need.
Contact Gonzales Law Office today for a FREE consultation!
Licensed to practice in all California and Federal courts
Featured in an article on Fox40 for our commitment to the law and impressive legacy
Super Lawyers® Rising Stars℠ and rated Top 40 Under 40 by the National Trial Lawyers
Attended drug & alcohol recognition training for a Drug and Alcohol Recognition P.O.S.T Certificate
Former police officer with experience in the DUI Unit at the Public Defender’s Office
A dedicated trial lawyer with an undefeated record of results for 2016, 2017, 2018, and 2019